Movie review: The Conjuring

Who has seen this flick?

I went out this afternoon with a friend and saw The Conjuring.  I have to admit, it was the scariest movie I have seen in a long, long time.  I didn’t splurge on the usual $20 in popcorn and pop this time and I didn’t miss it.  If I had bought snacks, I think I would have forgotten about them.  There was no way I would have been gobbling handfuls of popcorn during this one.

conjure

I don’t want to give anything away…but the scare factor was off the charts.  Jumps. Startles. Shocks. Gooseflesh. Yeah it is all there. I lost track of how many times I was scared by what was happening on screen. Great plot that kept me guessing as to who has going to die and who was going to become possessed. I was wrong on all counts.

And a true story?  I guess so. That is what the producers claim and from what I can read online doing some research, its pretty much what this family claims to have happened.

The Conjuring clocks in at just under 2 hours.  Time well spent.  Go check it out.

Devil? Demons? God? Spirits?  Do you believe?

I believe.

 

13 thoughts on “Movie review: The Conjuring

  1. The sound effects were terrifying. Your heart seems to pop out of its cavity. I’ve seen this movie on big screen theatre in Suriname recently. See it yourself.

  2. It was a well-done movie. I thereafter found that one of the children living there has become a writer on her experiences of that home. She maintains that it was truly haunted, and that the movie was (with just a few exceptions) spot-on.

Leave a Reply

