Train whistles and eagles

This morning on the way to work I saw a bald eagle in the middle of the interstate, well on the shoulder, messing around with a carcass. A bald eagle. Ok I didn’t see it but my coworker did.

Most amazing sight.

I have heard of or seen vultures, pheasants, crows, and even wild turkeys poking around on the interstate, but this is the first time I have heard about a bald eagle.

It flew away, but I like to think it ashes the peace sign with its talons as it took to the air.

That didn’t prompt me to blog, what did was a train horn blaring in my office window minutes ago. Yeah we have a building next to busy train tracks. Hope they don’t derail around here because that would be ugly. The train yelled at me to do a blog as it blared its horn.

So what’s up with my writing? My second novel is on its fourth revision and getting very close. I had a couple of amazing beta readers that really helped out. Using the correct tense of a verb seems to be a big issue with me. I am working on it and getting there.

I changed the title from The Rise of the Wenchiton Zombies to…

The Dark Trek Home

I love it. It just came to me one night. That title captures the essence of the story- its an epic tale of trying to get home, at many levels. Conflicting levels at that.

So I am pumped up about that. I can’t wait to get book out there into your hands!

6 thoughts on “Train whistles and eagles

  1. Bald eagle, eh? Cool. We usually see one or two a year around these parts. And several golden eagles. Damn those things are huge. Have you seen the video of the eagle picking up, then dropping mountain goats? Go to YouTube and check it out. Crazy stuff, man.

    And speaking of, you probably have a pretty good scene somewhere for some story with that train derailing into your office. I’ve never been there, but I certainly just visualized it happening.

    And I like the new title as well. Good luck with further revisions.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

    • That would make a good scene in a story! There are some huge eagle’s nest about 45 minutes south of here along the river. There is an eagle cam installed in the nest and everything. Its pretty cool

  2. Congrats on your progress, Erik. How was your experience with beta readers? I’m thinking of using some for the first time later this year. Any advice on that whole process?
    I work at Sun-Maid Raisin Growers of California and we sit beside tracks, too. Yikes!
    Take care.

    -Jimmy

    • Beta readers are awesome! I wouldn’t have it any other way. I would suggest getting beta readers that are going to go up and beyond just saying ‘i liked it’ or ‘i didn’t like it’ I like the ones that tell me details of what works and what doesn’t, point out errors, etc.

Leave a Reply

