Old Short Stories

In high school I wanted to be a writer. I wrote many short stories and most of them are horrible. I wrote them on a word processor for a while and later on an Apple IIc that I bought with money I saved from working at McDonalds. I still have all those stories. I scanned them a decade ago so they would be saved.

I have been looking at them and trying to decide if there are any ideas worth salvaging….a total rewrite would be needed to say the least but if there is a spark of an idea there it might be fun to reinvent something from my youth. I actually did that once.

The short story “My Lover, My Garden” was written in 1986

I think the rewrite is pretty twisted and graphic. Its about two brothers…one just turning 18 and wanting freedom and adventure the other brother isolated and obsessed with gardening. You can check it out on Smashwords here give it a read and let me know what you think.

Some of the other stories I have from back then are about an Empire of the Dead, the horror of finding six-leafed clovers, murderous construction crews, robots taking over the world, massive floods, a possessed baseball cap and many more…don’t know if I should mess with them or not!

Has anybody else tried to revive old stories from many years past?

2 thoughts on “Old Short Stories

  1. Unfortunately none of my old work has been saved. I *might* have an old floppy disk around somewhere with something on it and my old computer downstairs may have a file on it with a story but I’m not digging up any old relics, just yet. The plots are stored in my brain, though. One day I might dig one out of the darkest corner of my brain, dust it off, and rethink it but for now I have three books in my brain that haven’t even been started yet. I like the idea about robots taking over the world. In case they may be listening: I, for one, welcome our new computer overlords. =)

  2. Fun post. I think we are due in this new e-age for a revival of the short story. But to answer your question, I wrote a short story in the early nineties and thought I was done with it. About seven years later, I was writing another short story when it suddenly struck me that the new story could be a continuation of the old story. And voila! I had my first novel length idea.

    I keep almost every fragment of ideas, however short (see my post this week for more explanation on this), characters, stories, newspaper clippings, whatever… You never know when you’ll use one later.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

Leave a Reply

